Skip to content

Oklahoma Wheat Commission to hold District V election

Press Release

PONCA CITY — The Oklahoma Wheat Commission (OWC) will hold an election to fill the District V board seat opening on Tuesday, June 30 at 1 p.m. in the West Seminar Room at Pioneer Technology Center, located at 2101 N. Ash in Ponca City.

District V consists of all counties east of the western boundary lines of Kay, Noble, Logan, Oklahoma, Cleveland, Grady, Stephens and Jefferson counties.

All wheat producers within District V boundaries who are actively engaged in wheat production, have marketed wheat and have paid a check-off fee and left that fee with the Commission for the current year are eligible to vote. It will be the responsibility of the producers to prove their eligibility to vote by providing a dated grain elevator receipt including, the producer’s name and amount of wheat sold and a driver’s license or some other form of identification.

Candidates wishing to run in the election must be at least 25 years old, a resident of Oklahoma, engaged in growing wheat in the state for at least five years and must derive a substantial portion of his or her income from growing wheat.

Three nominations will be made at the election, from which the Oklahoma Secretary of Agriculture will appoint one person to serve a five-year term with the OWC.

A box lunch will be provided at 12:30 p.m. by the Oklahoma Wheat Growers Association in an effort to expedite the election and observe social distancing.

Every wheat producer in the district is urged to participate in this important election.

For further information, contact the OWC office at (405) 608-4350.


Leave a Comment