Skip to content

County, state and U.S. candidates filed

By Everett Brazil, III

The Newkirk Herald Journal

NEWKIRK — The filing period for county offices has passed, and several Kay County residents have shown an interest in serving the community through county service, including several incumbents as well as new candidates for those same positions.

Friday, April 10 was the final day to file, and the Kay County Election Board received six Declarations of Candidacy for County Commission, Court Clerk, County Clerk and County Sheriff.

Filing for County Commissioner District Two, which represents Newkirk on the Board of County Commissioners, are incumbent Jason Shanks, and Chris DeBoard, both of Newkirk.

Two candidates also filed for Court Clerk: incumbent Marilee Thornton, Newkirk, and Natalie Scavezze, Ponca City.

Two incumbent positions were filed unopposed, which are Steve Kelley, County Sheriff, Tonkawa, and Tammy Reese, County Clerk, Nardin.

Other candidates who have filed representing Kay County include state and U.S. senators and representatives.

Filing for U.S. House District Three are incumbent Frank Lucas (R-OK) and Democrat candidate Zoe Midyett, Oklahoma City.

Eleven candidates have filed to represent Oklahoma in the U.S. Senate. Incumbent James Inhofe is leading four candidates in the Republican party, which also includes J.J. Stitt, Kingfisher; John Tompkins, Oklahoma City and Neil Mavis, Tulsa.

There are also four Democrats in the race: Sheila Bileyu, Flagstaff, Ariz.; Abby Broyles and Elysabeth Britt, both of Oklahoma City and R.O. Cassity, Jr., Ponca City.

Two Independents are also running – Joan Farr, Tulsa, and A.D. Nesbit, Ada, while Robert Murphy, Norman represents the Libertarian Party.

United States Senator James Lankford’s (R-OK) term will expire in 2022.

Two districts represent Kay County in the state House of Representatives, districts 37 and 38. In District 37, incumbent Ken Luttrell, Ponca City, and Independent Shawn Wilson, Blackwell, are contending for the position, while incumbent John Pfeiffer (R-38) was the lone candidate for House district 38.

Kay County is also represented by two state Senate Districts, 10 and 19. In district 19, Sen. Roland Pederson (R-19), Burlington, and Democrat candidate David M. Mason, Enid, are contending for the position.

Senator Bill Coleman (R-10) will be up for re-election in 2022.

Three candidates filed for Corporation Commission. In the Republican Party, that includes incumbent Todd Hiett, Kellyville and Harold D. Spralding, Oklahoma City. Todd Hagopin, Bixby, represents the Libertarian part.

For more information, contact the Kay County Election Board, at (580) 362-2130.

Leave a Comment